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General Information 
State employee leave benefits and policies are established and governed under state employee 
union contract provisions and the following statutes: 
 

Vacation Leave  Sections 124.13 and 124.134, Ohio Revised Code 
Sick Leave  Sections 124.382 through 124.384, Ohio Revised Code 
Personal Leave  Section 124.386, Ohio Revised Code 
Disability Leave  Section 124.385, Ohio Revised Code 
Bereavement Leave  Section 124.387, Ohio Revised Code 
Administrative Leave with Pay  Section 124.388, Ohio Revised Code 

 
Compensation for overtime worked is covered under Section 124.18, Ohio Revised Code. 
 
The employee’s step rate, including all supplemental rates and excluding shift pay differential, is 
the basis for calculating the value of leave benefits or overtime worked.  The State’s Payroll 
System, the source from which OBM obtains a year-end compensated absences balances 
report, is perpetually updated to reflect the provisions of newly negotiated employee union 
contracts or statutory changes that affect the payment of leave benefits.   
 
For purposes of calculating a year-end compensated absences liability balance, vacation, 
personal, sick, and compensatory leaves only are considered.  Specifics on each type of leave 
used in the calculation are discussed below. 
 
Vacation 
Generally, vacation benefits become vested for 
 

• union employees after six months of continuous service. 
 
• employees who have transferred from other governments or other state 

agencies and have completed at least one year of continuous service with 
their government or agency upon transfer. 

 
• all other employees after one year of total service. 

 
Employees accrue vacation leave at a rate of 3.1 hours every two weeks for the first five years 
of employment, up to a maximum of 9.2 hours every two weeks after 25 years of employment.  
Employees may accrue a maximum of three years vacation leave credit.  Cash payments may 
be made for vested, unused vacation for 100 percent of the employee’s balance upon 
termination or separation. 
 
Personal Leave 
Personal leave can be either credited at the rate of eight hours at the beginning of each quarter 
(generally applicable to most union employees only) or credited in a lump sum of 32 hours in 
December of every year prior to being earned by the employee (generally applicable to 
employees exempt from collective bargaining). 
 
Union employees appointed after the start of a calendar quarter and non-union employees 
appointed after December are credited with personal leave on a prorated basis upon 
appointment.  Pro-ration for most union employees (OCSEA/AFSCME) is based upon the 
formula of .015 hours per hour of non-overtime worked, while for exempt employees, the pro-
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ration is based upon the formula of 32 hours less 1.2 hours for each pay period that had 
elapsed from the base pay period in December until the first day of the pay period during which 
the appointment was effective. 
 
For employees that are credited with a lump sum of personal leave in December, the share of 
personal leave earned upon termination or separation is determined and adjusted through pro-
ration; any unearned personal leave used is recovered by the State by deducting the value of 
the leave taken from the employee’s last paycheck. 
 
The maximum hours a union employee can accumulate for personal time is up to 40 or 48 
hours, depending upon the bargaining unit’s contract; the employee is paid for personal leave 
hours earned that exceed this limit.  The maximum hours exempt employees can carry as 
“earned” personal leave is eight hours; any unused personal leave exceeding the eight-hour 
limit is paid out at 100 percent in December when the 32-hour lump sum for the next year is 
credited. 
 
Sick Leave 
The following two categories of sick leave are tracked on the State’s Payroll System: 
 

• “Old” sick leave  benefits carried over for state employees transferred 
from other governments after July 5, 1987 that are ineligible for payoff 
upon termination or separation. 

 
• “New” sick leave  benefits earned for state employees who are eligible 

for payoff upon termination or separation. 
 
Generally, employees accrue sick leave at a rate of 3.1 hours every two weeks.  Sick leave 
benefits vest after five years of credited service for AFSCME employees and after one year of 
continuous service for other employees.  Sick leave is paid at 100 percent of the employee’s 
pay rate when used for the first 40 hours of the benefit year, at 70 percent of the employee’s 
pay rate when used for 40.1 through 80 hours of the benefit year (except in the case of 
hospitalization during the second week, which is paid at 100 percent), and again at 100 percent 
of the employee’s pay rate when used for any amount in excess of 80 hours of the benefit year.  
Annually, up to 80 hours of sick leave that was accrued in the current year and remains unused 
in December may be cashed out at varying rates, as described below.   
 

Number of Hours Subject to Cash Conversion  Percent of Regular Rate 
80  80% 

72.0 to 79.9  75% 
64.0 to 71.9  70% 
56.0 to 63.9  65% 
48.0 to 55.9  60% 
47.9 & less  55% 

 
“Transferred” old sick leave may be used once all “new” sick leave has been exhausted.  
Unused, vested sick leave may be liquidated at 50 percent of the employee’s pay rate upon 
separation other than retirement.  For AFSCME, union-exempt, and healthcare employees, 
unused, vested sick leave is liquidated at 55 percent upon retirement while other employees 
receive 50 percent upon retirement.  Consequently, OBM calculates the liability for sick leave, 
as of June 30, by multiplying the value of the unused sick leave balance (pay rate times number 
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 of unused hours) by the appropriate separation rate, in conformity with GASB Statement No. 
16, paragraph 8. b. 
 
Compensatory Time 
Union employees are eligible for cash payments for 100 percent of their compensatory time at a 
value equal to 1.5 times overtime hours worked multiplied by the employee’s pay rate.  
Compensatory time may not exceed 240 hours. 
 
Overtime-exempt employees are ineligible for cash payments for compensatory time. The policy 
for granting compensatory time to employees exempt from overtime payment is set by the 
appointing authority and can differ from agency to agency. 
 
Reporting Requirements 
The State of Ohio’s compensated absences liability is calculated and reported in accordance 
with the guidance set forth in the Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) Statement 
No. 16, Accounting for Compensated Absences, GASB Statement No. 34, Basic Financial 
Statements – and Management’s Discussion and Analysis – for State and Local Governments, 
and GASB Interpretation No. 6, Recognition and Measurement of Certain Liabilities and 
Expenditures in Governmental Fund Financial Statements. 
 
The compensated absences liability and related expenditure/expense, as of June 30, are 
reported using two bases of accounting:  the modified accrual basis and the full accrual basis.  
The government-wide financial statements and the proprietary fund financial statements report 
the compensated absences liability and related expense on the full accrual basis of accounting, 
while the governmental fund financial statements report the compensated absences liability and 
related expenditure on the modified accrual basis of accounting.   
 
The gross amount of the liability is calculated in the same manner, regardless of which basis of 
accounting is used, and is detailed below. 
 

 Fifty Percent of the Year-End Value of Sick Leave, and 100 Percent of the 
Year End Value of Vacation, and Personal Leaves (Employees’ Rates in 
effect, as of June 30, including scheduled statutory and/or contractual pay 
raises x Employees’ Balances), as per the State’s Payroll System 

  

Add: Year-End Value of Compensatory Time Balances (Employees’ Rates in 
effect, as of June 30, including scheduled statutory and/or contractual pay 
raises x Employees’ Balances), as per the State’s Payroll System 

  

Add: State’s Share of Medicare Tax on Value of Compensated Absences 
Balances and Compensatory Time Balances (for Overtime-Eligible 
Employees) that Applies to Employees Subject to the Tax 

  

Add: State’s Share of Public Employees Retirement System (PERS) 
Contributions on Compensatory Time Balances for Overtime-Eligible 
Employees 

  

Compensated Absences Liability, as of June 30 
 
At termination, the State’s employer share of parental leave (charged at .12 percent), disability 
leave (charged at 1.4 percent), and workers’ compensation (charge varies by agency) benefits 
are charged against the compensation paid out to employees for vacation, sick, personal, and 
compensatory leave.  For the State’s government-wide financial statements, OBM has 
determined that no year-end expense accrual for these charges will be made, since the 
potential balances involved have been determined to be of an insignificant nature in relation to 
reporting of the State’s overall compensated absences liability. 
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The State accrues vacation, compensatory time, and personal leaves as liabilities when an 
employee’s right to receive compensation is attributable to services already rendered and it is 
probable that the employee will be compensated through paid time off or some other means, 
such as at termination or retirement. 
 
Sick leave time that has been earned, but is unavailable for use as paid time off or as some 
other form of compensation because an employee has not met a minimum service time 
requirement, is accrued to the extent that it is considered to be probable that the conditions for 
compensation will be met in the future.   
 
The State uses the vesting method, as described in paragraph 8.b. of GASB 16, to calculate its 
liability for sick leave.  Under this method, the liability is recorded on the basis of leave 
accumulated by employees who are eligible to receive termination payments, as of the balance 
sheet date, and on leave balances accumulated by other employees who are expected to 
become eligible in the future to receive such benefits. 
 
On the basis of an annual analysis, OBM determines whether the value of sick leave balances 
for employees with less than the five-year continuous service requirement is material.  If the 
value of the unvested sick leave is deemed not to materially impact the State’s financial 
statements, OBM includes this value in its year-end compensated absences liability balance.  If 
the value of the unvested sick leave balance is considered to be material, OBM estimates the 
portion of the balance, which is expected to be paid in termination benefits; the accrual is based 
on assumptions concerning the probability that the employees affected will become eligible to 
receive termination payments.  
 
State agency operating funds generally provide funding for the costs of the routine use of 
compensated absences by employees.  Additionally, these funds pay assessments (also known 
as the payroll check-off) every pay period to Fund 1240: Payroll Withholding, based upon a 
percentage of the gross payroll, which are later deposited into Fund 8060: Accrued Leave 
Liability.  Fund 8060 provides funding for compensated absences paid upon termination, and for 
the annual December conversion when employees exercise their option to be paid for their 
unused sick and personal leave balances within the allowable limits.  Assessments deposited in 
Fund 8060, an agency fund, are net of any compensated absences paid for terminations or the 
December conversion that occur during the respective pay period being assessed.  If the cost of 
compensated absences paid for terminations or the December conversion during a pay period 
exceeds the amount of the assessment charged for that pay period, then the amount of the 
difference is charged to Fund 8060 and used to help pay those compensated absence costs.   
 
As of June 30, Fund 8060’s assets include  
 

• cash equity with the Treasurer of State (not adjusted for any unrealized gains or losses 
on investments included in the cash equity account), and 

 
• balance of payroll check-offs on deposit in Fund 1240 that are pending disbursement to 

Fund 8060.  (In the event moneys in Fund 8060 are needed for termination benefits as 
of June 30, then Fund 8060 would owe moneys to Fund 1240.) 

  
The following are the approaches that the State of Ohio uses to report the compensated 
absences liability, and related expenditures/expenses, as of June 30, under the two bases of 
accounting.   
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Government-wide Financial Statements 
The liability for compensated absences reported in the Statement of Net Assets is reported as 
an “Other Noncurrent Liability,” using the full accrual basis of accounting.  The liability reported 
in the Statement of Net Assets is reported at the gross amount.   
 
When reporting the liability in the Statement of Net Assets, GASB 34 requires that the liability be 
reported in two components — current and noncurrent.  The current portion of the liability 
consists of the amount of compensated absences that is due to be paid in one year of the 
balance sheet date.  (As explained later under the “Governmental Fund Financial Statements” 
section, the current portion of compensated absences does not include leave payouts for 
terminations and retirements that were due, as of June 30, and later paid in July, in the next 
fiscal year; these liabilities are included as a component of wages payable that is reported under 
the “Accrued Liabilities” account on the Statement of Net Assets.)  The noncurrent portion 
consists of the amount of compensated absences that is due to be paid in more than one year 
after the balance sheet date. 
 
In Full Accrual, the following journal entries are made for the government-wide financial 
statements.   

 DR.  CR. 
    

Expenses (by function) $XXX   
Other Noncurrent Liabilities – Due in One Year 
 

  $XXX 

To record the current portion of the State’s compensated absences liability and 
the related expense for the year ended June 30.  

 
 DR.  CR. 

    

Expenses (by function) $XXX   
Other Noncurrent Liabilities – 
Due in More Than One Year 

   
$XXX 

 
To record the noncurrent portion of the State’s compensated absences liability 
and the related expense for the year ended June 30.  

 
As required by GASB 34, the State reports the current and noncurrent portions of the liability 
separately on the Statement of Net Assets.  All compensatory time/overtime is considered to be 
current, since it must be paid out or used within a time period short of one year.  The current 
portion of the compensated absences liability, other than compensatory time, is not easily 
determinable, because the State does not know in advance the amount of compensated 
absences that will be paid to employees within one year of the balance sheet date.  Therefore, 
the State must estimate the current portion of its compensated absences liability, using trend 
data from the current and the two previous fiscal years. 
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For each fiscal year, OBM calculates the additions to the state’s total liability for compensated 
absences, excluding compensatory time/overtime, for the fiscal year as follows: 
 

 Compensated Absences Liability, net of Compensatory Time/Overtime, as of June 30 
  

Add: Disbursements for Compensated Absences Leave Taken During the Fiscal Year, as 
reported by the Department of Administrative Services’ Payroll Services Division* 

  

Subtract: Compensated Absences Liability, net of Compensatory Time/Overtime, as of July 1 
  

“Calculated” Additions to Compensated Absences During the Fiscal Year 
 

* It should be noted that the disbursements for compensated absences do not include 
disbursement data for compensatory time/overtime, since all compensatory time/overtime 
must be paid or used currently, when considering the government-wide financial 
statements.  However, the disbursements for compensated absences do include 
payments from Fund 8060 as well as the State’s operating funds that have payroll 
activity. 

 
For each of the three fiscal years, OBM compares the “calculated” additions to the actual 
disbursements for compensated absences.  The State pays its compensated absences on a 
last-in, first-out basis, and OBM assumes that termination payments occurring in one fiscal year 
materially relate to the outstanding compensated absences balance, as of the end of the prior 
fiscal year.  Consequently, when the calculated additions exceed the actual disbursements for 
compensated absences, as is generally the case, only the amount of termination payments 
disbursed during the fiscal year is considered to be the ”current” portion of the compensated 
absences liability that existed as of the beginning of the year. 
 
When actual disbursements for compensated absences, net of any termination payments, 
exceed the “calculated” additions, this difference plus the amount of termination payments made 
during the fiscal year represents the amount of the current liability for compensated absences 
existing at the beginning of the fiscal year that was liquidated during the fiscal year. 
 
For each of the three fiscal years, OBM compares the “current” portion of the liability with the 
overall liability for compensated absences (excluding the portion attributable to compensatory 
time/overtime) at the beginning of the fiscal year to calculate what percentage of the liability is 
“current.”  OBM then averages the percentages calculated for the three fiscal years and 
multiplies the resulting average percentage by the amount of the liability for compensated 
absences (excluding the portion attributable to compensatory time/overtime), as of the balance 
sheet date.  This result is then added to the balance of compensatory time/overtime outstanding 
at the end of the fiscal year to determine the current portion of the total compensated absences 
liability.   
 
OBM calculates the State’s noncurrent portion of the compensated absences liability as follows.   
 

 Total Compensated Absences Liability, as of June 30 
  

Subtract: Current Portion of Compensated Absences Liability 
  

 Noncurrent Portion of Compensated Absences Liability 
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In the Statement of Activities, the State reports the expense associated with the liability for 
compensated absences as a program expense by function in the governmental activities section 
or the business-type activities section.  Functional assignment of expense is determined on the 
basis of the state agency that has incurred the liability. 
 
For the government-wide financial statements, OBM allocates back Fund 8060’s cash equity 
with treasurer balance to avoid overstating expenses reported for governmental and business-
type activities that pay assessments into Fund 8060.   For the reallocation, Fund 8060’s cash 
equity balance is adjusted for payroll check-off amounts pending disbursement from Fund 1240: 
Payroll Withholding.   
 
The Fund 8060 adjustment is recorded as a reduction in expense (by function) and an increase 
in the “Cash Equity with Treasurer” account.  From an OAKS download, OBM determines each 
governmental and proprietary fund’s percentage of the State’s total gross payroll for the fiscal 
year, then multiplies this percentage by Fund 8060’s adjusted cash equity with treasurer 
balance to determine the amount to adjust expenses and the cash equity with treasurer balance 
by fund and by function (which is determined by the agency that is assigned the fund).   In Full 
Accrual, the following journal entry is made for this adjustment.   
 

 DR.  CR. 
    

Cash Equity with Treasurer $XXX   
Expense (by function)   $XXX 

 
To allocate back the cash equity with treasurer balance (adjusted, as 
described above) in Fund 8060, as of June 30, to the operating funds 
(governmental and business-type) and to avoid double counting the expense 
in governmental and business-type activities when recording the compensated 
absences liability.   

 
For the proprietary fund financial statements, the same accounting approach for compensated 
absences, as outlined above for the government-wide financial statements, applies. 
 
Governmental Fund Financial Statements  
In the governmental fund financial statements, the compensated absence liability is reported 
using the modified accrual basis of accounting.  In accordance with GASB Interpretation No. 6, 
Recognition and Measurement of Certain Liabilities and Expenditures in Governmental Fund 
Financial Statements, the State reports the current portion of the liability for unpaid leave earned 
through June 30 as a fund liability (included in the “Accrued Liabilities” account for governmental 
funds), since the balance is normally expected to be paid with expendable, available financial 
resources (i.e., the State’s available period, which is approximately within 60 days of year-end). 
 
According to Interpretation 6, a governmental fund expenditure and liability should be 
recognized as payments come due for employees who have terminated or retired.  Leave 
payouts for terminations and retirements are liquidated by the end of the pay period that follows 
the pay period when the termination or retirement officially occurred.  Consequently, OBM 
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captures the amount due at year-end for termination and retirement payments through its 
process of posting year-end wages payable for state employees, since the accrual is calculated 
on the basis of wages paid during the first and/or second pay periods of the next fiscal year, 
depending on how June 30 falls in the two-week pay period.  The portion of the liability not 
expected to be paid with expendable, available financial resources is reported as a reconciling 
item to the government-wide financial statements, and accordingly, is not reported as a 
governmental fund liability.   
 
For the governmental fund financial statements, OBM allocates back Fund 8060’s cash equity 
with treasurer balance to avoid overstating expenditures in the governmental funds that pay 
assessments into Fund 8060.   For the reallocation, Fund 8060’s cash equity balance is 
adjusted for payroll check-off amounts pending disbursement from Fund 1240: Payroll 
Withholding.   
 
In the governmental funds, the Fund 8060 adjustment is recorded as a reduction in 
expenditures (by function) and an increase in the “Cash Equity with Treasurer” account.  From 
an OAKS download, OBM determines each governmental fund’s percentage of the State’s total 
gross payroll for the fiscal year, then multiplies this percentage by Fund 8060’s cash equity with 
treasurer balance to determine the amount to adjust expenditures and the cash equity with 
treasurer balance by fund and by function (which is determined by the agency that is assigned 
the fund).   
 
OBM also records a fund balance reservation in the governmental funds for the amount of the 
adjusted cash equity balance allocated from Fund 8060, as described above.   
 
In Modified Accrual, the following journal entries are made for the governmental fund financial 
statements. 
 

 DR.  CR. 
    

Expenditures (by fund) $XXX   
Accrued Liabilities (Wages Payable)   $XXX 

 
To record the State’s compensated absences liability (i.e., leave payouts at 
termination and retirement included in wages payable) for amounts earned by 
June 30 that will be paid with expendable, available financial resources, and 
the related expenditure, for the year ended June 30.  

 
 DR.  CR. 

    

Cash Equity with Treasurer $XXX   
Expenditures (by fund)   $XXX 

 
To allocate back the balance of cash equity with treasurer balance (adjusted, 
as described above) in Fund 8060, as of June 30, to the operating funds and 
to avoid double counting the expenditure in the operating funds when 
recording the compensated absences liability.   
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Note Disclosures – Changes in Compensated Absence L iability 
Paragraph 119 of GASB 34 requires certain disclosures for changes in the balances of long-
term liabilities, including compensated absences.  The required disclosures are: 
 

• beginning- and end-of-year balances, 
• increases and decreases, presented separately, 
• the amount due in one year of the statement date, and 
• the identification of which governmental funds typically have been used to liquidate the 

liability in prior fiscal years. 
 
The State presents the required disclosures on compensated absences and other long-term 
liabilities using the following format. 
 
 

Changes in compensated absences for the year ended June 30, 20xx, are as follows.   
 

Governmental Activities 
  

Beginning 
Balance 

  
 

Additions* 

  
 

Reductions 

  
Ending 
Balance 

  
Amount Due 
in One Year 

 
$x,xxx 

  
$xxx 

  
$xxx 

  
$x,xxx 

  
$x,xxx 

 
 
Business-Type Activities 

  
Beginning 
Balance 

  
 

Additions* 

  
 

Reductions 

  
Ending 
Balance 

  
Amount Due 
in One Year 

 
$x,xxx 

  
$xxx 

  
$xxx 

  
$x,xxx 

  
$x,xxx 

 
The General Fund and the major special revenue funds primarily liquidate compensated 
absences attributable to governmental activities. 

 
* OBM deduces the balance of additions to compensated absences for the year by subtracting the 

beginning compensated absences liability balance from the ending compensated absences balance, 
then adding back the deductions for the year, as reported by DAS.   
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